Award Winners

Home / Award Winners

Dr. Manvir Bhatia, MD (Medicine), DM Neurology (AIIMS)

Award Name: Extraordinary Contribution in Sleep Medicine

Dr. MANVIR BHATIA is a Senior Neurologist, Electro-physiologist and Sleep Specialist. Dr.Manvir is heading the position of a Director of Sleep medicine and senior consultant Neurology at Fortis Escorts Heart Institute-New Delhi and Neurology Sleep Centre, New Delhi. She has also the author of the book-“The Sleep Solution” first non-fiction book on sleep in India.

She is one of the pioneers in the developing the specialty of Neurophysiology and Sleep medicine in the country. She was in charge of the Clinical Neurophysiology Laboratory at AIIMS and developed the ‘state-of-art’ Clinical Neurophysiology Laboratory.

Dr. Manvir Bhatia initiated and was the coordinator of the Epilepsy Surgery program at AIIMS.

She also started the first sleep clinic and sleep laboratory under Neuro-Sciences at AIIMS. She has been a pioneer in creating awareness about Sleep Disorders and establishing the role of Sleep Medicine in the country. She was invited by the WHO to participate in developing guidelines for health issues related to ‘Sleep’.

She completed DM in Neurology, at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi. She has been trained in USA and UK in Electrophysiology, Epilepsy and Sleep Medicine. Dr. Manvir Bhatia has been invited to deliver lectures, Orations in National and an International workshop, conferences on topics related to Neurology, Epilepsy, and Sleep Medicine and has published more than 80 papers in leading journals and several chapters in books.

Recently she has been awarded with Indira Gandhi Mahila Ratan Award & won the best prize for “10,000 women Entrepreneur Certificate Programmed at ISB”, Hyderabad.

She is a member of Indian Academy of Neurology, Indian Epilepsy Society, Indian Sleep Disorders Association, World Association of Sleep Medicine, International Restless Legs Society Study Group and American Academy of Electro diagnostic Medicine, International Pediatric Sleep Academy, and American Academy of Sleep Medicine.

Areas of Interest– Epilepsy, Sleep Medicine, Headache, neuromuscular disorders

Medical Qualifications:

Medical school: Christian Medical College and Hospital, Ludhiana

DM Neurology:  AIIMS, New Delhi

Past Positions

  • Additional Professor and In charge of Neuro-Electrophysiology, Sleep Medicine at AIIMS, New Delhi.
  • Chairperson Sleep Medicine, Senior Neurology Consultant at Sir Ganga Ram Hospital, New Delhi


Medical School: Christian Medical College & Brown Memorial Hospital, Ludhiana, India

Neurology Residency: Univ. of Missouri, School of Medicine, Columbia, MO

Fellowship in Sleep Medicine & Clinical Neurophysiology: Duke Univ. Medical Center, Durham, NC

Triple Board certification: in Neurology, Sleep Medicine, and Clinical Neurophysiology

1987 to Present: Faculty Member, Neurology, Univ. of Missouri

2002 to Present – Professor (with Tenure) & Chairman, Department of Neurology

Director, Sleep Disorders Center & Sleep Medicine Fellowship program


Since taking over as Chair, expanded residency training program (from 2/year to 5/year), Expanded department faculty (5 to 25) with programs of excellence in Epilepsy, Neuromuscular disease, Movement disorders, and Stroke.

Developed accredited Sleep Disorders Center and Sleep Medicine fellowship program

Started Basic Neurosciences research -program received NIH & VA merit award funding.


Carried out >45 Research studies most with external funding (most as PI),

>60 peer reviewed publications; > 115 paper presentations, 18 book chapters

Co-edited book on Sleep disorders – “Acute and Emergent Events in Sleep Disorders”.

Ad-hoc reviewer for >15 journals. Editorial board of 3 including Sleep Medicine.

Ad-hoc Grant reviewer, Mental Health & Behavior B panel


Multiple awards for excellence in teaching include: Best Neuroscience Teacher award, MULation award (honors teachers medical students choose to emulate), & Order Of Socrates


Served/serve multiple institutional, state, regional, national, and international bodies.

Selected ones include:

Accreditation council of UCNS (United commission for Neurologic subspecialties), Program Accreditation & Development subcommittee of AAN (served as member, chair) Member, Education Committee of AAN; Member, membership subcommittee of AAN;

Member, AAN task force on International Collaboration on Educational & Science Programs

Board of Governors – University of Missouri Medical Alumni Association,

Sleep Research group of World Federation of Neurology (served as Chair, member),

Past President of Association of Indian Neurologists in America (AINA).

Received AINA lifetime achievement award by the American Brain Foundation.


Special honor: financial contribution to AAN by past residents to honor me as mentor. Privileged to have had trainees who think of me in those terms and support the AAN (American Academy of Neurology).